Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource for radio,speakers, MP3, amps, subwoofers, box enclosures, IASCA,DB Drag Racing, USACi and MECA events Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource
Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource
Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource  Welcome to CarStereo.com the Internet Guide to Car Audio Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online ResourceMY ACCOUNT   
Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource
SonicElectronix.com - 1-877-BUY-SONIC
Up to $30.00 in FREE custom install kits on select car stereos. Largest selection online, great prices, Daily Deals and FREE shipping on most products. We are an authorized dealer for Infinity, JBL, JVC, Kicker, MTX, Vibe, RE Audio and others.
Car Audio Black Friday Sales!
Message Forums Car Stereo Message Forums > Amplifiers > Curious once more
Go Back Pages (3): [1] 2 3  Next next page
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
jaboran
Member

 

in theory.. 2 really small amps can be run off of a single 8 gauge wire split into 2 10s or 2 12s... as long as the 8 gauge has an ample sized fuse on it, i wouldnt see a problem with that

why the curiosity?.. kinda odd.. but i aint gonna be that dick that says yer stupid for asking.. heh far from it.. a simple question deserves a simple answer

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-10-2005 05:32 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for jaboran Click here to Send jaboran a Private Message Find more posts by jaboran Add jaboran to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
subfanatic
Member

 RE: Curious once more

quote:
Originally posted on 03-10-2005 by Shannon
Typically a bi-amp install is two bigger amps that need a four gauge split to two eights or something.

it started going through my head, what if its two much smaller amps were being used, for example(and i know people dont use these so bare with my example ~_^)an amp that is like 15x4 and maybe hmm lets say 40x2, then what would happen with those, would it be like an 8 gauge to two 12 gauges or something?

im just saying this once more cause theres always some dick who doesnt understand that im feeding my curiousity so...,
I'm just curious. This curiousity does not reflect anything i actually plan on doing with any equipment.

xo
-Shan


my friend ran somen like that for 2 sets up components...but i think he went 10 gauge into 12 guage, my other friend is running a POS pyrimad amp and he just runs it straight off the batt with 12

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-10-2005 05:34 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for subfanatic Click here to Send subfanatic a Private Message Find more posts by subfanatic Add subfanatic to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jaboran
Member

 RE: RE:

quote:
Originally posted on 03-10-2005 by Shannon
hahaha, i really dont know, i just think about weird things and they dont leave my head until theyre answered haha. kinda like my box topic, it was pretty out there as well.

as long as it is not hurting anything, i guess it is fine... heh.. any other questions of curious intent are welcomed...

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-10-2005 05:44 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for jaboran Click here to Send jaboran a Private Message Find more posts by jaboran Add jaboran to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
subfanatic
Member

 RE:

quote:
Originally posted on 03-10-2005 by Shannon
whooo! this one came quick!, another random question. What would happen if someone ran two power wires straight to the battery rather than distributing? and also, whats grounding multiple amps like, would you use a dist.block to ground as well, what if they did the seperate wires thing, then would the ground points be different or would they both ground at the same point?
well there ya go, another random what if question. haha =P


you dont need to destribute anything really...when i had my first setup i had a tiny amp running my stock speaker and an amp pushing my subs...just ran a 20 foot 4 gauge wire directly from my bat to my amp and grounded it to one place in my car with 4 gauge..then i ran a differnte 20 gfoot 4 gauge from my bat to my amp again and just grounded it at a different spot lol...it was fine...you could ground them at the same spot though...i have my neons and my new lighter grounded in the same place

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-10-2005 06:17 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for subfanatic Click here to Send subfanatic a Private Message Find more posts by subfanatic Add subfanatic to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
subfanatic
Member

 Aliens?

do aliens exist..cause i bet they have crazy intense systems

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-10-2005 07:30 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for subfanatic Click here to Send subfanatic a Private Message Find more posts by subfanatic Add subfanatic to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jaboran
Member

 RE:

quote:
Originally posted on 03-10-2005 by Shannon
whooo! this one came quick!, another random question. What would happen if someone ran two power wires straight to the battery rather than distributing? and also, whats grounding multiple amps like, would you use a dist.block to ground as well, what if they did the seperate wires thing, then would the ground points be different or would they both ground at the same point?
well there ya go, another random what if question. haha =P


well.. i have 2 4 gauge wires running directly to the battery and have no problems with it... there may be some problems in the long run with it, but i have had it this way for a year and everything seems fine... and i have 2 amps.. each have their own ground point.. i havent seen a distribution block to help ground... i imagine u could make 2 power wires go into a distribution block and have a large wire out of the other end and ground the bigger wire without a problem..(ie 2 8 gauge wires run into a dist block with a 4 gauge out, with the 4 gauge being grounded)... so that means they would ground at the same point.. it wont hurt anything.. just as long as both of the wires going into the distribution block are grounds rather than livewires(mmmmm.... i am thirsty now......)

..... mmm....

wat was i saying?.. oh yeah... there shouldnt be a problem with grounding to the same point using a dist block with a wire out being grounded.. as long as the wire being grounded is bigger than the wires going INTO the dist block, and both are ground wires from 2 amps.. as long as there isnt a positive power wire going into the dist block, there shouldnt be a problem.... i hope my rambling didnt get too confusuing... basically.. it is a YES to yer question.. but a little more winded

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-10-2005 08:19 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for jaboran Click here to Send jaboran a Private Message Find more posts by jaboran Add jaboran to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jaboran
Member

 RE: Aliens?

quote:
Originally posted on 03-10-2005 by subfanatic
do aliens exist..cause i bet they have crazy intense systems

lol... i bet they have mastered the brown noise to make all of us poop on command.... mmmmm a frequency so low, it makes yer bowels move... wtf?! alright.. i am done...

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-10-2005 08:20 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for jaboran Click here to Send jaboran a Private Message Find more posts by jaboran Add jaboran to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
subfanatic
Member

 RE: RE: Aliens?

quote:
Originally posted on 03-10-2005 by jaboran
lol... i bet they have mastered the brown noise to make all of us poop on command.... mmmmm a frequency so low, it makes yer bowels move... wtf?! alright.. i am done...

SOUTH PARK RULES haha

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-10-2005 08:36 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for subfanatic Click here to Send subfanatic a Private Message Find more posts by subfanatic Add subfanatic to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Jlongo
Member

 

hey Sub! what the hell is wrong with Ecoustics?

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-10-2005 10:04 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Jlongo Click here to Send Jlongo a Private Message Find more posts by Jlongo Add Jlongo to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
mckrassler
Member

 

I set up a system but split a 5 into two nines.

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-10-2005 10:43 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for mckrassler Click here to Send mckrassler a Private Message Find more posts by mckrassler Add mckrassler to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
subfanatic
Member

 RE:

quote:
Originally posted on 03-10-2005 by Jlongo
hey Sub! what the hell is wrong with Ecoustics?

idk...last night i couldnt get the friggen thing to load car audio..i was soo peod at my moms comp...

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-12-2005 01:51 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for subfanatic Click here to Send subfanatic a Private Message Find more posts by subfanatic Add subfanatic to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
korndog
Member

 RE:

quote:
Originally posted on 03-10-2005 by Shannon
whooo! this one came quick!, another random question. What would happen if someone ran two power wires straight to the battery rather than distributing? and also, whats grounding multiple amps like, would you use a dist.block to ground as well, what if they did the seperate wires thing, then would the ground points be different or would they both ground at the same point?
well there ya go, another random what if question. haha =P


I had 3 8 gauge wires (2 amps, 1 frig, hehe) running from my battery at one point. Even had them grounded on their own wire, to the same point (I think to avoid ground loops, you gotta have them at the same point.) The only issues i had was that i was that i had 2 amps and a relay on my REM line, and my HU didn't like, it would overheat and shut off, still does it now when i try to connect more then 2 things, wtf.., maybe just my crappy HU. Also, trying to put an extra 3 connects on ur battery and ground, i cut off the old bolt on my chassis for the ground and soldered on a longer one, as for the battery, i just hammered it on (engineer at work) i think it would probably be worth it to go with a larger cable though, but it would cost extra.. 8 guage cables run like 20-30 bucks for 100ft reel on ebay, where as a 20ft 4gauge wire, blocks, fuse can run you 40 or more :-S

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-12-2005 03:53 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for korndog Click here to Send korndog a Private Message Find more posts by korndog Add korndog to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
NiteScort
Member

 

i run all my grounds to a dist block and then back to the battery. any system over 500 watts or so should be grounded back to the battery.

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-12-2005 09:19 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for NiteScort Click here to Send NiteScort a Private Message Find more posts by NiteScort Add NiteScort to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
NiteScort
Member

 RE: RE:

quote:
Originally posted on 03-10-2005 by jaboran
well.. i have 2 4 gauge wires running directly to the battery and have no problems with it... there may be some problems in the long run with it, but i have had it this way for a year and everything seems fine... and i have 2 amps.. each have their own ground point.. i havent seen a distribution block to help ground... i imagine u could make 2 power wires go into a distribution block and have a large wire out of the other end and ground the bigger wire without a problem..(ie 2 8 gauge wires run into a dist block with a 4 gauge out, with the 4 gauge being grounded)... so that means they would ground at the same point.. it wont hurt anything.. just as long as both of the wires going into the distribution block are grounds rather than livewires(mmmmm.... i am thirsty now......)

..... mmm....

wat was i saying?.. oh yeah... there shouldnt be a problem with grounding to the same point using a dist block with a wire out being grounded.. as long as the wire being grounded is bigger than the wires going INTO the dist block, and both are ground wires from 2 amps.. as long as there isnt a positive power wire going into the dist block, there shouldnt be a problem.... i hope my rambling didnt get too confusuing... basically.. it is a YES to yer question.. but a little more winded


Whew!(wipes brow)! lol

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-12-2005 09:21 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for NiteScort Click here to Send NiteScort a Private Message Find more posts by NiteScort Add NiteScort to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jaboran
Member

 RE: RE:

quote:
Originally posted on 03-12-2005 by Shannon
wha?

yeah... thats what they say... thats why u see ppl with batts in the trunk of their cars... but most people dont get a quality 500rms+ system in their car... but it is recommended... but not everybody does it either... soooooooo... um.. i should do that too, now that i think about it

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 03-12-2005 11:18 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for jaboran Click here to Send jaboran a Private Message Find more posts by jaboran Add jaboran to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Go Back Pages (3): [1] 2 3  Next next page

Show Printable Version  |   Email this Page  |   Subscribe to this Thread


   
 Recently Logged In Members  
RampagesZ, from Mobile, AL. Rol886, from Rockaway Beach, NY. Dayton605, from Dayton, TX. reagan1, from Rowlett, TX. soltany, from beirut, MI. 2rgrbn, from Long Beach, CA. kaotiksyko, from , CO. banelsonms, from Moss Point, MS. weezer4rock, from , . jaboran, from swanton, OH. N2Audio, from Lawrence, KS. wolfantry, from erie, PA. IBBumpin, from Columbus, NE. tjsaudio, from anytown, MI. punkroc719, from Winchester, VA. Andrew, from Linden, MI. #1audio, from newport, NC. torawi01, from Corpus Christi, TX. Stripedss, from Hampton, GA. NRred2, from New York, NY.
see more member photos  post your members photo

 

 

 previous page Back Email this page to a Friend 
Home  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertise  |  Join!  |  Log-In
 
Copyright © 2006 Online ConneXions Inc.
Web Designed & Hosting