Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource for radio,speakers, MP3, amps, subwoofers, box enclosures, IASCA,DB Drag Racing, USACi and MECA events Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource
Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource
Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource  Welcome to CarStereo.com the Internet Guide to Car Audio Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online ResourceMY ACCOUNT   
Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource
OnlineCarStereo.com
The best and biggest selection of mobile audio/stereo, multimedia/navigation and accessories at the lowest prices! Kenwood, Pioneer, Rockford Fosgate, JVC, Sony, Clarion, Jensen, Infinity, Kicker and more...
Car Audio Black Friday Sales!
Message Forums Car Stereo Message Forums > Amplifiers > troubleshooting amp
Go Back Pages (1): [1]
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
jpsaudio
Member

 troubleshooting amp

got a customer who blew his subs and now says amp isnt turning on...this is an audiopipe ap1000d no fusing on the amp..checked fuse under the hood and it looks slightly melted in one spot but put the fuse tester on it and green light comes right on as soon as it touches the fuse...what are some other ways to troubleshoot the amp..havent tried disconnecting and reconnecting wires yet cause i didnt have time to meet with him so im jus looking for ideas if this doesnt work....thanx guys

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 06-07-2011 06:14 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for jpsaudio Click here to Send jpsaudio a Private Message Find more posts by jpsaudio Add jpsaudio to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
SINTORMAN
Member

 

well theres your problem its audiopipe. jk lol. Try it in a work or your personal vehicle and see if it turns on. If not then the amp is dead.

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 06-07-2011 09:04 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for SINTORMAN Click here to Send SINTORMAN a Private Message Find more posts by SINTORMAN Add SINTORMAN to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jpsaudio
Member

 

i took the wires out of my car..anything else

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 06-07-2011 09:24 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for jpsaudio Click here to Send jpsaudio a Private Message Find more posts by jpsaudio Add jpsaudio to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
SINTORMAN
Member

 

you got a 12 volt power supply in your shop? You could plug it into a cigarette lighter just to see if it turns on.

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 06-07-2011 09:26 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for SINTORMAN Click here to Send SINTORMAN a Private Message Find more posts by SINTORMAN Add SINTORMAN to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
KJM01
Member

 

did you take pics of where you set the gains? He may of turned up the gain too much and killed the subs and amp?! If it is the half melted fuse it may be ok, but my guess without fusing the amp its toast

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 06-07-2011 10:21 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for KJM01 Click here to Send KJM01 a Private Message Find more posts by KJM01 Add KJM01 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
gameguru1360
Senior Member

 

yeah sounds like he may have clipped the amp as well. were any of the ground wires loose before you disconnected everything???

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 06-09-2011 03:36 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for gameguru1360 Click here to Send gameguru1360 a Private Message Find more posts by gameguru1360 Add gameguru1360 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jpsaudio
Member

 

no i do not have a power supply...i do have a small hc600 kenitik battery is there a way i can rig that up to turningit on...i havent disconnected everything yet but when i do i will check that out..he is goin out of town so i gotta week to either figure out what i need to do or buy

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 06-09-2011 06:04 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for jpsaudio Click here to Send jpsaudio a Private Message Find more posts by jpsaudio Add jpsaudio to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
SINTORMAN
Member

 

get a wire from ground on battery to ground or gnd on the amp. Then two wires from the positive on the battery to the positive on the amp and the remote on the amp. It should turn on then.

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 06-10-2011 12:36 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for SINTORMAN Click here to Send SINTORMAN a Private Message Find more posts by SINTORMAN Add SINTORMAN to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jpsaudio
Member

 

thats what i was thinking..thanks though ill be sure to try that out

Report this post to a moderator

New Post 06-10-2011 01:10 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for jpsaudio Click here to Send jpsaudio a Private Message Find more posts by jpsaudio Add jpsaudio to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Go Back Pages (1): [1]

Show Printable Version  |   Email this Page  |   Subscribe to this Thread


   
 Recently Logged In Members  
kaotiksyko, from , CO. RampagesZ, from Mobile, AL. Rol886, from Rockaway Beach, NY. Dayton605, from Dayton, TX. banelsonms, from Moss Point, MS. weezer4rock, from , . jaboran, from swanton, OH. N2Audio, from Lawrence, KS. wolfantry, from erie, PA. 2rgrbn, from Long Beach, CA. IBBumpin, from Columbus, NE. tjsaudio, from anytown, MI. punkroc719, from Winchester, VA. Andrew, from Linden, MI. #1audio, from newport, NC. torawi01, from Corpus Christi, TX. Stripedss, from Hampton, GA. NRred2, from New York, NY. becesaudio, from davao city, AL. ipodzrcool, from , AL.
see more member photos  post your members photo

 

 

 previous page Back Email this page to a Friend 
Home  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertise  |  Join!  |  Log-In
 
Copyright © 2006 Online ConneXions Inc.
Web Designed & Hosting