Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource for radio,speakers, MP3, amps, subwoofers, box enclosures, IASCA,DB Drag Racing, USACi and MECA events Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource
Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource
Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource  Welcome to CarStereo.com the Internet Guide to Car Audio Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online ResourceMY ACCOUNT   
Car Stereo is the #1 Car Audio Online Resource
OnlineCarStereo.com
The best and biggest selection of mobile audio/stereo, multimedia/navigation and accessories at the lowest prices! Kenwood, Pioneer, Rockford Fosgate, JVC, Sony, Clarion, Jensen, Infinity, Kicker and more...
Car Audio Black Friday Sales!
Message Forums Car Stereo Message Forums > Subwoofers and Speakers > Subwoofer advice
Go Back Pages (1): [1]
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
mcarter2011

Subwoofer advice

Hi, This is my first time posting in this forum, and after exhausting my own car audio knowledge.

I recently blew out an 8" Solo Baric L3/5, with a 225 watt Hifonics amp -- melted the voice coil. It was installed into a custom ported compact enclosure behind the passenger seat and it always sounded pretty good, especially because it was in the cabin.

I decided to upgrade to a Soundstream Stealth 500.1 4 channel amp that fits nicely under my passenger seat and stays out of the way. It is currently delivering 250 watts rms bridged to two single voice coil (8 ohm) Fosgate P1's (150 rms each) wired in parallel. The box is sealed, with 0.75 cu ft per sub. The bass response is tight and accurate and the volume level is okay, but I find myself wanting more impact, especially with hip hop and electronic music.